## First Announcement

## **EAFE-Conference 2011**

## Hamburg, June 27-29

## Venue: vTI-Institute of Sea Fisheries

The XX<sub>th</sub> Conference of the European Association of Fisheries Economists (EAFE), will be held by kind invitation of the Johann Heinrich von Thünen-Institute – Federal Research Institute for Rural Areas, Forests and Fisheries from Monday 27<sup>th</sup> to Wednesday 29<sup>th</sup> June 2011 at the vTI-Institute of Sea Fisheries in Hamburg.

As in earlier conferences we intend to provide a forum for disseminating recent advances in capture fisheries and aquaculture economics and management, and to promote discussion amongst researchers, managers, policy makers and other stakeholders in the fisheries sector. The XXth EAFE Conference aims to contribute to the EAFE objectives, which are:

- to promote cooperation in research in fisheries and aquaculture;
- to help disseminate information about fisheries economics among members; and
- to further understanding of the economics of fisheries and aquaculture.

Proposed Themes:

- Reform of the Common Fisheries Policy
- Ecosystem based approach to fisheries management from an economic perspective
- Long term fisheries management and the transition period in the process of rebuilding fish stocks
- Types of Subsidies and effects on fishing fleets
- Bio-economic modeling
- Fish markets and certification
- Sustainable Aquaculture
- Economics of Discards
- Investment appraisal and investment decision making by vessel owners

Please send suggestions for additional themes especially for special sessions to: <u>ralf.doering@vti.bund.de</u>

First sketch on program:

Monday 25<sup>th</sup>: Start at 2 pm with Opening and keynote speech, 1<sup>st</sup> Paper session Tuesday 26<sup>th</sup>: AM: Keynote and 2<sup>nd</sup> Paper session

PM: 3<sup>rd</sup> Paper session; Roundtable discussion on CFP Reform

Wednesday 27<sup>th</sup>: AM: Keynote and 4<sup>th</sup> Paper Session

PM: 5<sup>th</sup> and 6<sup>th</sup> Paper Session, Conference dinner and Elbe boat trip

Organizing committee: Hazel Curtis, Ralf Döring

Scientific Committee: Luc van Hoof, Hazel Curtis, Erik Lindebo; Bertrand Le Gallic